Write a New World into Existence

Andrea Hylen
2 min readDec 1, 2020
Heal My Voice Books at www.healmyvoice.org

In a small used bookstore in Brooklyn, I found a book, “In Favor of the Sensitive Man and other essays” by Anais Nin.

And the day came when the risk it took to remain tight in a bud was more painful then the risk it took to BLOSSOM. ~Anais Nin

One of the essays in the book is called The New Woman. It was from a lecture given at the Celebration of Women in the Arts in San Francisco, April 1974.

“I believe one writes because one has to create a world in which one can live. I could not live in any of the worlds offered to me-the world of my parents, the world of war, the world of politics. I had to create a world of my own, like a climate, a country, an atmosphere in which I could breathe, reign, and recreate myself when destroyed by living. That, I believe is the reason for every work of art.

The artist is the only one who knows that the world is a subjective creation, that there is a choice to be made, a selection of elements. It is a materialization, an incarnation, of his inner world. Then he hopes to attract others into it…

We also write to heighten our own awareness of life. We write to lure and enchant and console others. We write to serenade our lovers. We write to taste life twice, in the moment in retrospection.” ~Anais Nin

--

--

Andrea Hylen

Founder of Heal My Voice and The Incubator. Life Scientist. Live house-free. Widow. Mom of Adult Daughters. Grief. Writing Sexuality. Evolutionary Woman