Flip the Script: Creativity as Awakening

Andrea Hylen
3 min readApr 19, 2024
Photo by Raychan on Unsplash

Day Ninety-seven

Creativity as Awakening

“Good writing does not succeed or fail on the strength of its ability to persuade. It succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else’s head.” ~Malcolm Gladwell, What the Dog Saw and Other Adventures

Creativity awakens us through connection and inspiration. Julia Cameron suggests going on artist dates. Taking yourself to places that awaken and inspire creativity. The artist sees patterns and connects the dots between events that seem separate. The artist knows that everything is connected. The awakening happens when you make the connection, see the connection, know the connection.

Whenever I am in Los Angeles, I visit the Hammer Museum. I go because it ignites my imagination. The Hammer Museum “champions the art and artists who challenge us to see the world in a new light, to experience the unexpected, to ignite our imaginations, and inspire change.”

Exhibits in 2023 included sound recordings with art on the walls, a hot tub for an immersive experience, indigenous jewelry made into six-foot sculptures hanging from the ceilings. I walked through the exhibits to see what stirs my imagination and feelings. Then I read the biographies of the artists and learned…

--

--

Andrea Hylen

Founder of Heal My Voice and The Incubator. Life Scientist. Live house-free. Widow. Mom of Adult Daughters. Grief. Writing Sexuality. Evolutionary Woman